To celebrate its fifth year, the Danger Prize is being re-launched to honour books featuring Australia as a setting for stories about crime and justice.
For the successful crime writer, a strong sense of place has always been fundamental, whether it be the Sydney of Peter Corris, the Melbourne of Peter Temple, the regional and rural spaces of early colonial crime fiction or the growing body of work addressing the impact of invasion and indigenous dispossession.
We are calling for the submission of books – both fiction and non-fiction – that, in their exploration of crime and justice, shed light on the diversity of life in Australia through vivid locations, strange and familiar. We are looking to reward crime writing that has its finger on the pulse of the Australian experience, both present and past.
In addition to the Danger Prize trophy, the winner will receive $1000 In prize money and will be invited to speak at BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival.



Entries must be received by BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival no later than 5pm on 15 July 2022. Entries should be submitted via the online entry form.

All books must have been first published between 1 January 2021- 31 December 2021.


An entry fee of $20 (including GST) is payable for EACH nomination.

Payments are to be made by direct deposit as per the online application form. Entries will only be accepted once payment has been made.

Name of Author
Name of Publisher Contact
Publisher Address

Account Details For Deposit:
Account number: 289882
BSB: 032 152




Nominating a work


General Assessment

The Danger Prize honours books featuring Australia as a setting for stories about crime and justice.

Who assesses the nominations?

The prize will be judged by three board members of BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival.

What is the judging process?

The judging panel may request additional information on nominations from applicants at this stage of the process and may call in books not already entered.

The judging panel will select a shortlist (containing no more than six titles per category) and prepare judges’ comments. There will be no notification for unsuccessful applicants.

Key Dates


  1. Read the guidelines, including the Privacy Notice.
  2. Complete the online application form.
  3. Pay the application fee.
  4. Send three (3) copies of your work/s to: BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival, PO Box 126, Thirroul 2515 by 15 July 2022.


Please email any additional enquiries to Suzanne Leal:

Privacy Commitment

The Danger Prize is committed to protecting the privacy of personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act 1988 (Cth). The Privacy Act details the Australian Privacy Principles that set minimum standards for how government agencies and private sector organisations may collect, use, disclose, store, provide access to and correct Personal Information. The Danger Prize is committed to complying with those Australian Privacy Principles.

Be the first to find out…


Join our subscriber email list before July 30 2022 to be the first to learn about new BAD happenings.

And go in the draw to win a set of books by Coben, Evanovich, Herron, McKinty, Winslow – the amazing authors from our International Festival