12-14 Sept 2024, State Library of NSW

Danger Awards 2023


The Danger Prize, now in its fourth year, is for the best work produced in the previous financial year about Sydney and crime. Previous winners have been John Ibrahim for his memoir Last King of the Cross, Hedley Thomas for his hugely popular podcast The Teacher’s Pet, and Tanya Bretherton for her historical true crime work The Killing Streets.
Judged by the board of BAD: Sydney Crime Writers Festival, the Danger Prize 2021 shortlist celebrates outstanding true crime and crime fiction.

Danger Prize 2021 shortlist:

The Second Son by Loraine Peck
Trust by Chris Hammer

The Husband Poisoner by Tanya Bretherton
Barrenjoey Road by Neil Mercer and Ruby Jones
I Catch Killers by Gary Jubelin

Mr Inbetween, Season Three (Foxtel)

The judging panel said of this short list, “As always, the true crime presence is strong. What stands out this year is the welcome appearance of some fine crime fiction, in novels and on TV.”

Media contact: Debbie McInnes, DMCPRMEDIA
T: 02 9550 9207 E:

The 2021 Winners

The overall quality was exceptionally high this year. We had to make a choice, but even so, for the first time the judges were split between two works, Gary Jubelin’s revealing autobiography I Catch Killers, written with journalist Dan Box, and Chris Hammer’s fine Sydney-based crime novel Trust. We resolved this by giving the prize to both books.

The judges found Trust to be “another fine outing about journalist Martin Scarsden, this time making a welcome appearance in Sydney. The book displays Hammer’s baroque energy in fine form, and manages to make some sly reflections on the harbour city along the way. It is highly entertaining.”

Gary Jubelin’s I Catch Killers is an extraordinary book, the finest depiction of a detective’s life, his motivations and frustrations, ever published in this country. The judges said, “Jubelin became unpopular with some colleagues because of his raw honesty with the general public. Whatever the effect of this on his career, it has produced a gripping and insightful account of the detective’s life. This has been acknowledged by the book’s commercial and critical success.”

This year the judges decided not to make a Danger Lifetime Achievement Award.

Be the first to find out…